Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jono123_gw

Novice needs advicewhen is Le Creuset, SS or Lodge appropriate?

jono123
18 years ago

I am a novice cook (thatÂs being generous) who has recently started to really like cooking.

I currently have a Lodge 12in skillet that I use exclusively for searing meats like steak and pork. I have non-stick cookware which needs to be replaced as the coating is now coming off.

As I look at cookware, there are a lot of proponents of cast iron, Le Creuset and stainless steel clad cookware. What type is good for what?

Here is what I already know:

Stock pots/boiling water = cheap stainless

Searing on high heat = Lodge

Eggs = Non-stick

Other than this, as I look to replace my non-stick cookware, what should I be looking for? Most of my cooking is on the cook top (an electric smooth top).

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Comments (5)

• loriafopiano
    18 years ago

Hi, I don't any really strong opinions on cookware but just want to say that we, too, have a smooth electric cooktop and it's my understanding you shouldn't use cast iron/le creuset, etc. on it. I could be wrong, but I remember reading somewhere that it could scratch up or otherwise damage the surface.

• steve_o
    18 years ago

Le Creuset (and Staub and Lodge and any other brand of cast-iron) also is ideal for when you want to cook something "low and slow" -- sauces, stews, braising meat, etc. -- anything which will cook for a relatively long time and improve as it cooks. Cast iron is slow to heat up, but good at retaining that heat and providing a consistent heat level to the food. You do need to be aware that non-enameled cast iron can leach iron into highly-acidic foods like tomato sauce, which is why many people prefer enameled pots and pans.

I can't speak to the electric-cooktop issue, but this may be useful information to others.