Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cookncarpenter

High centered All-clad skillet?

cookncarpenter
9 years ago

Found what I thought was a great deal on an 11" D5 skillet at T.J. Maxx Home Goods. First use I saute some asparagus and garlic in butter and olive oil. I notice the oils are draining off to the edge of the pan, and I can actually "feel" with the spatula that the bottom of the pan is not flat across the bottom, but high in the center. Is this normal? I'm wondering if it is intentional to drain off fats and oils? I've been cooking for over 40 years, and it just feels strange, could the pan be warped? Does Home goods sell seconds?? Or is this the way it should be... (about 3/32" in a six inch straight edge)

Comments (9)

• grubby_AZ Tucson Z9
    9 years ago

Grab a large hammer, a block of wood and a sturdy work bench.

And smack it.

Carefully.

In my foolish years when I bought stupidly expensive pans like Calphalon and Le Creuset, there was no real guarantee of a flat bottom. Interestingly (to me) they seem to rocker down, not rise up, when being off. Wok wannabees.

• sushipup1
    9 years ago

I got a large T-Fal frying pan at Marshall's a couple of years ago, and it's done the same thing. It's non-stick and only cost $10, so I'll just a replacement at Costco (the pack of 2 or 3 pans for $20).

Have never ever had that happen to me before. We don't use it a lot and my DH uses it mainly for breakfast on the weekend, so I didn't use it much.

Never again for T-Fal, cross that brand off my list.

• cookncarpenter
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks Grubby, I just mat give that a try! ...after I give some real heat ;)

• flsandytoes
    9 years ago

To quote All-Clad about the d5 line:

"The patented stainless core significantly improves stability to prevent warping and maximises the thermal conductivity of aluminum"