Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vacuumfreak

so, what about those starrter kits

vacuumfreak
17 years ago

I have seen the starter kits for people just starting out for about thirty dollars. They usually have a few pots and pans, measuring cups, utensils, and a few place settings. Does anyone have any experience with this? I am a college student getting my first apartment... I know that the stuff in those kits is probably of inferior quality... that is why I want to know before I buy one. I don't have anything, so it would be easy to get a starter kit, but is it worth it? Have you tried any of them? How are the things included? Thanks

Comments (2)

• lindac
    17 years ago

Don't buy a starter kit....I am sure there will be stuff you don't need...
    If you are watching the pennies, go to the Salvation Army or Good Will thrift store, or hit an estate sale or 2 and buy what you need. it will be cheaper, better quality and you can buy only what you need for less.
    At a dollar story you can buy 4 plates, 4 mugs and 4 bowls for $12....new...matching..nice.
    Then for $3 or $4 you can get a good quality used pan, and kitchen utensils for a little more.
    When my daughter went to her first apartment, I fit her out at garage sales and auctions....and she still is using a couple of the Farberware pans I bought...20 years later. She bought a rocker at an auction for $12 and stripped the paint and varnished and is still using that.
    Good quality used is better than cheap new any day.
    Linda C

• gardenlad
    17 years ago

I'm with Linda on this 100%! I would add antique malls & flea markets to her list of shopping places, though.

I've never seen a starter kit of any kind (from cookware to woodworking to flytying ) that actually made much sense. Far too often the contents are very inferior (what good is anything if it breaks right away, or doesn't do the job it's supposed to)and are things you don't want or won't use.