Return to the Cookware Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My T-Fal pan is scratched & I haven't used it more than 10 times

Posted by shelly2 (My Page) on
Tue, Sep 11, 07 at 9:12

I have been using T-Fal frying pans for 20 years, replacing a pan every 2-3 years as it got too scratched. My new giant sized T-Fal frying pan, used less than 10 times and certainly not abused is loosing its coating and has white lines showing through. I called T-Fal and they said they couldn't do anything for me. I could send the pan back and incur mailing costs so they could inspect it for me. Or they could send me a rebate to buy a new pan.
I am convinced that T-Fal now has new management and is cutting their costs, giving consumers an inferior product. Their teflon coating is not as good as their past products. So if any happy T-Fal owners are thinking of buying a new T-Fal pan, be aware that it will not be as good as past T-Fal pans as they are now making a shoddy product.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My T-Fal pan is scratched & I haven't used it more than 10 ti

I never did like t-fal....I like whatever Meyer uses on their pans.
Linda C

o

Linda C,
I never heard of a Meyer pan, please tell me about it so I can look into it and where is it sold?

o

Meyer is the name of the cookware company that produces the cookware lines Circulon and Anolon and Farberware (along with several others) My experience with them has been mixed.

When I got married (1994) I got a full set of Anolon pots and pans, including an 8" Omelet pan. Over about 7 years the omelet pan gradually became scratched and scuffed and started flaking off.
Next I saw a Circulon Omelet pan on sale and I bought it. It lasted less than a year before the surface coating had flaked off worse than the original Anolon pan which was still in the back of the cabinet.

I then bought another Anolon omelet pan, which lasted about 1 1/2 years before it too was unusable.