Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
victoriajane_gw

besides dw safe, what are the pros of stainess steel?

victoriajane
14 years ago

Hello, newbie here, just finishing a kitchen renovation and I'm so happy to be moving on to the cookware issue. We currently have a hodge-podge of pots and pans leftover from college days. I'm not looking for a "set" per se, but I'd like to discard the crap and replace with decent cookware. I asked dh which kind of pans he prefers; he rummaged through the drawer and pulled out an old calphalon commercial saucepan. He says he much prefers it to the stainless steel. I think he likes the heft of the pan and the fact that he doesn't scorch as much with it as he does with the ss. But - keep in mind that our stainless steel is not very good (I don't think it has that "triply" construction) and, our smoothtop electric cooktop was really difficult to cook on, period. So I don't want to rule out stainless steel altogether. But, when I do a search on the pros and cons of ss versus, say, cast iron or aluminum, the one consistent pro for ss is that it can be put in the dishwasher. We have 6 people in the family and lots of dishes everyday, so I never put the pots and pans in the dw; they will most certainly get handwashed. So, is there another pro to stainless steel? Another note - we have a bluestar rnb in our new kitchen - 22 btu's on the high burner - but ss is supposed to be used with relatively low heat, correct? However, bluestar sells a line of ss triply, so it must be okay. Of course, I know the heat doesn't have to be turned all the way up. But for stir frying, I was thinking a cast iron wok would be best, because then you would certainly be using high heat. So, I'm thinking a cast iron wok for stir fry, a plain jane non-stik fry pan for eggs, my regular old pasta pot will be fine for boiling noodles, and so I'd just like to fill in the gaps with a few covered stockpots/skillets/saucepans and I need to figure out what , if any, is the advant