Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cookie08_gw

Cookware Selection

cookie08
15 years ago

I'm new to GW. I was able to select all my appliances because I hung out here and read and read and read. Next was cookware. I've looked at several sites including Consumer Reports and narrowed it down to 1 practical set, and one if money is no object set:

Practical for me because I rarely cook. Oatmeal, Hamburger Helper, Chicken Alfredo, really basic stuff

Revere Non Stick Stainless Steel Cookware Set (includes steamer). I like this set because it has no spill pour spouts & steam vents, it is oven safe, it has soft grip handles, the lids have glass inserts, it is dishwasher safe, and the price is $169.

The more expensive selection is: Calphalon Contemporary Stainless Cookware Set, 13 Pc. I like it because it has glass lids, it is oven safe, lots of open stock pans to choose from including a grill pan. The cost is $600 for the set. Pretty, but not practical for the little cooking I do.

Thanks everyone for all the info. Next on to 'bathrooms'.

Comments (8)

• arley_gw
    15 years ago

First, welcome to GW. You'll find a lot of helpful people here with just a few jerks :)

Before you shell out a bunch of money for cookware, think about what you want to accomplish. If the tasks you are asking of it are simple, there's no need to spend a lot of money. You can get a decent Wolfgang Puck set at Sam's for under $200. That Revere ware set you mentioned might be all you need.

But before you buy, do yourself a favor and read the rather long but very informative article at the link. It covers the topic of stovetop cookware with great detail and precision. If you read through that and retain just 10% of it, you'll still be more knowledgeable than the average kitchen store salesperson.