Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vincedee

Stainless vs. TriPly! And the winner is...

vincedee
18 years ago

Everybody talks about All-Clad being the latest and greatest trend in cookware. Having spawned numerous knock-offs, it's clear that the stainless-aluminum-stainless cookware rage is in full bloom. But what actual, practical tests have been conducted to show the superiority of "TriPly" over other types of cookware? I've searched the Internet, and I can't find hardly any information where someone tests various cookware in any kind of objective way.

Having just jumped on the TriPly bandwagon (by buying a Sam's Club "Member's Mark" 11-piece TriPly cookware set...practically a dead ringer for All-Clad, or so I'm

told), and being the skeptic that I am, I decided to conduct my own informal test to find out if TriPly was "all that and a bag of chips", or just another Macarena type fad.

The first thing to understand is that I'm not a professional cook. In fact, I'm not really that much of a amateur cook, either (if my wife is to be believed). I'm also not a professional tester, a metallurgist, a kitchen designer, or any of the various professionals who have any kind of credibility in recommending kitchenware-type stuff. No, I'm just some guy who occasionally likes to cook and my only qualifications for doing this test are that I just bought a set of new pans and I have a cynical, show-me personality. So you've been warned.