Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
homersgarden

Need new pots and pans...what to do? I need help!

homersgarden
17 years ago

I am new to the world of actually enjoying cooking. I have been married for almost ten years and received very cheap Faberware coated pots and pans as a wedding gift. These babies are shot. They did the trick for the last nine years, but since moving into a new-to-us home with a fantastic kitchen for cooking six months ago, I have really started to do a lot more in terms of cooking. I am now ready to buy some new pots and pans, but have no idea what do do? Opinions would be helpful. Do I go with Calphalon? Stainless steel? Copper? Kirkland brand at Costco? What are the benefits of teflon? I have heard some bad things about it. Any comments would be helpful.

I currently cook on electric, but when we update appliances in a year or two I will switch to gas. Thanks in advance.

Comments (11)

• lindac
    17 years ago

You buy what's best for the job you want it to do. I don't believe in a "set of cookware"...
    I like 2 non stick fry pans...one for one or 2 eggs and another for eggs for 4 people. I like aluminum with a coating...not stainless and not Claphalon.
    I like something that can start on the cook top and go to the oven...For this I like a Le Cruset oval baker or a gratin dish. That's good for fritattas, oven roasted potatoes, where you would like to melt the butter and start it on the stove top and finish in the oven, and I use it for small roasts like a pork temderloin that I want to brown on the cook top and finish in the oven.
    And then you will need a Dutch Oven....and again I prefer le Cruset...or a look alike. Buy in the size (s) you need.
    What's missing is a big stainless pot for boiling water for corn or pasta, or making soups and stocks.
    Add a couple of small stainless, clad bottom sauce pans for cooking a few carrots and you have most all of what you need...other stuff is what you "want"..LOL!
    Linda C