Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tmac96

Fully clad SS vs. disc bottoms

tmac96
19 years ago

I was at the store looking at some cookware trying to decide which stainless steel pieces I wanted to pick up. I am really interested in the fully-clad tri-ply pieces such as All Clad (and Sam's Club's Members Mark SS cookware which is also fully clad but costs far less). In viewing the pieces though, I noticed how very thin they are. Other stainless steel cookware that is not fully clad and instead has the disc bottom has a much thicker bottom. This leads me to believe that those pieces would be better at distributing heat across the bottom and would thereby better eliminate "hot spots" in my pan. If that is so, why do so many recommend fully clad so much more? I know that with fully clad extends heat up the sides, but is that necessary in a pan?

I am new to this, so please excuse this question if it is totally stupid! Thanks!

Comments (32)

• eandhl
    19 years ago

I have found no "hot spots" in either my Cuisinart, disk bottom or my All Clad SS. Both work serve a good purpose. Only thing I noticed is the cuisinart with copper disk doesn't simmer well. (too hot with the copper)

• mrsmarv
    19 years ago