Return to the Cookware Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Best Soup Pot? Shape and Band?

Posted by dogitnice (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 17, 08 at 21:09

I want to get a big heavy pot for the purpose of making soup that will simmer for two hours. I saw a beautiful pot by Straub that has a larger circumference rather than height. It is about eight quarts, cast iron and glazed in an aborigine color. Just beautiful. Because the emphasis is on width rather than height I would like to know if that matters. I am an inexperienced cook but I like to try and have made this soup before. I also have been advised to get a hand held 'smasher' (do-not know what else to call it) and would like suggestions as to brand and what to look for.

Thank you,
Dogitnice

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Best Soup Pot? Shape and Band?

I'll bet you meant aubergine rather then aborigine...but they often are the same color! LOL!
A wide soup pot is wonderful because when the heat source is on the bottom the stuff in the pot stays at a more uniform temperature.
Hmm....hand held smasher...? Do you mean a hand held blender? or a potato masher?
Linda C

o

Thanks Linda, so much for spell check! OK a wide soup pot it is!

I do not mean a potato masher. The purpose would be to puree the vegetables in the soup. What would be the best way to do this?

Thank you,
Dogitnice

o

Stick blender.

o

Any brand suggestions for a stick blender?

The pot I had in mind is a Staub, it was on sale and sold out this morning! I wonder about other brands of iron pots for slow cooking--any suggestions? Is it worth spending the money for the Staub? Rachel Ray and Emeril brands have put out iron pots that are a lot cheaper.

Thank you,
Dogitnice

o

staub is worth it....as is Le Cruset....
Don't know about RR nor Emeril...
But once you buy a good cast iron enamel ware pot, you will be hooked.
I hear Lodge makes a good pot as well.
Linda C

o