Return to the Cookware Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Looking for Cookware Advice

Posted by CMD123 (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 2, 13 at 16:02

I have been using Revere ware copper clad cookware for 30 years and would like to upgrade to an easier to maintain, stainless steel multilayer brand. I have looked at Cuisanart and all clad. Can anyone provide some advise? Is the allclad worth the extra cost? I don't like non stick materials, but don't like the pots to look grubby or be impossible to clean. I cook on a gas stove.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Looking for Cookware Advice

I like Caphalon. I think All-Clad is overpriced and I don't like the long handles. I have some Cuisinart but not the multi-ply, and it's cheap imo, but good enough for vegetables. You can find all three at Marshall's. I only see Calphalon there occasionally, but I was lucky to find a 2.5 qt. saucepan for $40 and a 6 qt. stockpot for $50. It's very heavy, the handles have three rivets, and it cooks and cleans up beautifully.

The Cuisinart Green Gourmet is great for a non-stick skillet. It's ceramic coated. Ours is going strong after three years of daily use. We have the 8" omelet and only use it for eggs.

o
RE: Looking for Cookware Advice

Kirkland (Costco)brand is just as good for far cheaper.

Myself I do not particularly like stainless and I opted for a couple cast iron pans, and a couple of Mineral Steel pans made by Debuyer as far as pans/skillets go.
They work great, totally nonstick and will last 2 lifetimes and get better with age and cost far less. As far as easy to keep clean, they are just as easy to clean as non stick cookware, can usually just wipe it with a paper towel.
They are not "pretty" like shiny stainless or copper but they are meant to be functional.