Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Does stevia have a strange flavor?

Posted by shambo (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 9, 12 at 17:46

I unwittingly ordered two Paul Prudhomme spice blends last week when I purchased some other "stuff" from Amazon. The blends claimed to be "No Salt & No Sugar," so I thought I'd give them a try. I couldn't find the ingredient list but decided to take a chance.

When the blends arrived, I noticed that stevia is listed last as an ingredient. I don't use sugar alternatives, so I have no experience with stevia. I tasted the blends, and they taste OK. But I know that sometimes it takes more than a quick taste test to tell how something really tastes. I'd hate to ruin a hunk of meat or chicken by seasoning it with something that leaves a weird after taste.

So, if you've had some stevia experience, could you give me your opinion? Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Does stevia have a strange flavor?

I have only used stevia in coffee and to me, it tastes like vanilla was added to my brew. Others say they taste cotton candy and some find no taste to it, other than sweet. I am not sure I would use it in a spice blend for meats.

o

Both BF and I find Stevia unpalatable due to the aftertaste. He's a sugar junkie who claims it is "OK when you mix it with sugar to mask the taste." Huh?? :)
It might be OK with other spices for that reason. But anyway, different folks taste things differently. It isn't that horrible, but just not something I can tolerate in a sweetener. I prefer to just limit sugar, since I don't have much of a sweet tooth. It might be OK mixed with other stuff. But anyway, we have bought some things with Stevia and just not liked them so now avoid it. Your mileage may vary.

o