Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Best potatoes in soup to stay firm

Posted by ginnyginny (My Page) on
Tue, Dec 28, 10 at 15:05

I enjoy potatoes in vegetable soups but they always seem to get mushy even though I try not to overcook them. I use russet potatoes. Is there another type of potato that will hold it's shape better?

Thanks and Happy New Year to all my GardenWeb friends.

Ginny

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Best potatoes in soup to stay firm

Almost any potato will hold up better than russets...red, Yukon gold, fingerlings, long white etc...
Linda C

o

I've had the best luck with redskin or Yukon gold potatoes.

o

I see where my mistake has been. No more russets for me unless their baked. It's amazing how much I have yet to learn and I've been cooking for 35 years!!

Thanks.

Ginny

o

Or, just use russets but add them later.

o

I always use red skin potatoes and most of the time with the skin on.

It is supposed to get really get cold in the next couple of days so soup or stew will be on the menu!

o

Ginny, besides baking, russets are my favorite variety for raw frying.

o

The red potatoes work best for me. I just made a stew where the potatoes were 1-1/2 hours in the stew in a low oven, and the potatoes came out perfect. I did peel them, and they still held up. Also, how big are you cutting your potatoes? Too small, and they will disintegrate more easily. I cut mine for stew to about 1" cubes, not smaller.

o

I love russets for almost everything...but for holding their shape in a soup or stew.
I like them for mashing oven roasting, frying, baking and for potato soup where they are meant to fall apart!!

o

I agree, just about any potato holds up better in long-simmering dishes like soups and stews than russets.