Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Party Mix Warning - Same Boxes, Less Quantity!

Posted by lov2garden (My Page) on
Fri, Dec 23, 11 at 12:42

I've been using the same recipe for Party Mix for over 20 years and it's based on ounces of various cereals. Good thing I decided to check the actual weight of the box sizes I've always bought. The combined weight is now 10 ounces less for the same box sizes!

If I hadn't checked, I would have made a huge quantity (2 large roasting pans full) of the family Christmas favorite that would have been a greasy, salty disappointment!!!

Luckily, I had a partial box of one cereal on my shelf and could make up the diffence. 10 ounces is a lot of difference.

Just thought I'd warn others who count on box or bag size for their recipes!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Party Mix Warning - Same Boxes, Less Quantity!

This thread goes hand in hand with the thread on margarine reformulation.

Companies adjust their products to keep up with the rising cost of producing them. Smaller packages and adjustments to ingredients.
Old recipes won't be the same. These companies would be doing themselves a favor if they would add comments on their products when they change something.

o

A while back, supermarket had great price on 3 lb bags of 8 O'clock coffee... whole beans. It was a BOGO. Now I like math and noticed something right away. Three lbs time 16 oz a lb = 48 oz, right!?! These bags were something like 40 oz?? A half a pound off! Did a little math and it was still a good deal so bought it. mentioned to cashier and she said they haven't be a reall 3 lbs in ages?!?

o

I try to carefully read the ounces and see how much everything is per ounce before I buy it. It is very to be given the wrong impression about cost/amount unless you do so. Thanks for the reminder.

Kate

o