Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to clean/wash chicken breast or steak?

Posted by TM8492 (My Page) on
Tue, Nov 6, 12 at 19:26

I'm really new to cookie and because I'm one of those that afraid of germs and bacteria, I want to ask you that when I choose a chicken breast or steak from a supermarket, do I need to wash it first to get rid of impurities before preparing and seasoning it? and how does one do it?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to clean/wash chicken breast or steak?

^ It's suppose to read: "I'm really really new to cooking"

o

Are you in good health? Anyone you are cooking for have a health issue?

dcarch

o

You planning on cooking that steak or chicken breast? Putting it over a hot fire or in a hot pan? That will kill all germs that you could possibly wash off.
Now what you DO need to be concerned about is the bugs that grow after you cook it or which are endemic in the chicken....that is 'inside" the meat.....and that's why you cook chicken to an internal temp of 160, and don't leave food sitting out of the refrig for more than 2 hours.
I don't wash meat, unless it has obvious bone chips from the saw or bits of blood....or I sprinkle it with cinnamon instead of chili powder!!

o

I sometimes rinse meat with vinegar and blot dry - freshens and rinses off package juices.

o

Nope, I don't wash meat or chicken. As mentioned, cooking will destroy any organisms on the exterior of the meat. Ground meat should be especially cooked to a safe temperature as you don't know what pathogens might be introduced in the grinding process. Beef, pork, chicken, whatever, could all be ground on the same grinding surface and who knows what else could added.

I grow my own beef so I'm comfortable eating it nearly raw, but even growing my own chickens I make sure I cook them to 160F and then let it rest to finish cooking. Pork used to be cooked to death, but trichinosis is killed at 138F so above that is good.