Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
pre-cooked Pork Shoulder... now what?

Posted by bizzo (My Page) on
Thu, Nov 5, 09 at 12:36

I've never done this before... and I need some suggestions. I'm not exactly sure why I bought it... either I thought I was going slow cook the pork shoulder for pulled pork, or I thought it was a ham, since it was in with the ham at the grocer...

So... bring on the suggestions!! It's in the fridge, and I'm at a loss as to what to do and how to do it!!

thanks...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: pre-cooked Pork Shoulder... now what?

White beans. Served over a hunk of cornbread. Mmm. Perfect fare for autumn.

o

Warm it after pulling in some BBQ and serve.

o

~ slice it/pull it/chop it, add some good BBQ sauce, heat or simmer all day in crock pot, serve on buns w/wo slaw

~ chop in small pieces, make pork fried rice

~ make sandwiches, spread a little pepper jelly on the sliced pork

~ stir fried with peppers, onions, garlic - add in a sweet and sour sauce, serve over hot rice

~ make pork lo mein, add in cooked linguine noodles and vegetables

~ freeze it in large pieces (the best way) or slices, or cubes - double wrap for best protection

~ add a stewed chicken (shredded), some cooked beef (shredded), some pork (also shredded), some canned tomatoes, limas, corn, onions and potatoes for a big ole pot of Brunswick Stew - squirrel or 'possum optional.

o

Do you have a precooked smoked boston butt?
If so treat it just like a ham....did you cook it or buy it already pre cooked?
Is it cured?
Linda C

o

Linda, It was already pre-cooked. It says pork shoulder and in with the hams, so it might be a boston butt, I'll have to look when I get home.

Rob, would you just warm it like ham, and serve with white beans and corn bread? that sounds pretty good...

Or do I have to treat it just like ham... and how different from ham will it taste?