SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jadeite_z7

questions about bread makers?

jadeite
11 years ago

I just acquired a bread maker. It's a big Panasonic, comes with high recommendations etc. I've never used one before, so before launching into this, can someone please help me get started?

I know the books recommend instant yeast which I have. But is standard dried yeast completely out?

Is there a way to make a pre-ferment, a biga or poolish, and use it in the machine? I find it adds a lot to the flavor of good bread. The instructions which are quite clear don't allow for variations like this.

Finally, are there any tips which could be useful to a beginner? I've made bread by hand and with a mixer for years so I'm not inexperienced in breadmaking, just in using this new gadget.

Thanks,

Cheryl

Comments (38)

• lpinkmountain
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I use standard yeast in my bread machine and in fact prefer it. You can do a biga, I do them all the time. Just use the dough cycle or any other cycle and then turn off the machine or unplug or reset or whatever you have to do to start over after the biga had done its thing. Run out and get the book, "The Bread Lover's Bread Machine Cookbook" by Beth Henspberger. It has a whole chapter on doing breads with a biga, either 4 hours, overnight or two weeks. You could probably find directions online, but since I have the book I haven't looked.

• jadeite
    Original Author
    11 years ago

lpink - thank you! I've reserved the book at my local library. I'm looking forward to learning how to use the bread machine, I hope it will get me making bread routinely instead of a few times a year.

Cheryl

• Related Discussions

Foccacia Bread recipe for a bread maker?

Q

Comments (5)