SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
remodelfla

Do you have a best peacn pie recipe?

remodelfla
15 years ago

I'm a good baker... getting better. I have much more expertise with cooking. My DS has requested a pecan pie this Thanksgiving. I've never made one. Could you please share your best tried and true recipe? I figured I'd go right to best sources around!

Thanks,

Elyse

Comments (37)

• ann_t
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Everyone that has made David's Pecan Pie has raved about it.

Heart Of Dixie Pecan Pie

Source: Lakeguy35 (David)

1 Cup dark corn syrup
    3/4 Cup sugar
    6 Tbl butter
    3 large eggs
    Pinch salt
    2 Tbl Bourbon (you could omit, I use it))
    2 Cups pecan halves or pieces
    or a combination

Prepare and chill the dough.

For the filling, combine corn syrup and sugar in saucepan and stir to mix. Place over low heat and bring to a boil, without stirring. Remove from heat, add butter and allow butter to melt. In a mixing bowl, whisk eggs to break up and whisk in salt and Bourbon. Whisk in syrup and butter mixture, being careful not to over mix. Allow to cool while preparing bottom crust.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and set a rack in the lowest level. For the bottom crust, lightly flour the work surface and the dough and roll it to a 12-inch disk. Fold the dough in half and place it in the pan; unfold the dough and press it firmly into the pan. Trim away all but 1/2 inch excess dough at edge of pan. Fold dough under and flute edge.

Arrange pecans in crust. Skim foam from top of filling (or the top will have an unattractively mottled surface) and pour over pecans. With the back of a fork, press the pecans down into the filling so that they are immersed. Bake the pie for about 45 minutes, until the crust is baked through and the filling is set and well puffed in the center.

Cool the pie on a rack and serve warm or at room temperature.