SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
petaloid

Cast iron question

petaloid
13 years ago

I have been using Crisco to season our vintage cast iron cookware, which seems to work well.

My hubby wants to re-season the pans with mineral oil instead, because he heard this is better.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Comments (53)

• soonergrandmom
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I would never use mineral oil.

Here is a link that might be useful: mineral oil carcinogen

• hawk307
    13 years ago

Jimster:
    I have been telling them this for a few years.
    When I first Posted using oil, they said it would turn Rancid. ?????
    I do the Pizza Pans with oil, also and bake them for a few hours.

Sometimes I forget the Cast Iron Skillet on the Range.

I will smell something burning and remember the Skillet,
    which is now very clean on the bottom.

So I put some oil on the bottom and throw it in the oven for a couple of hours. (The Skillet Bottom)!!!!!
    LOU

• Related Discussions

Cast iron question

Q

Comments (6)