Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Broccoli Beef for 70

Posted by jeri (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 1, 12 at 12:18

Hi Everyone!

I made the Broccoli Beef recipe in the link below last night and everyone loved it. I would like to make it for the band kids. I was thinking I could make this in my 22 quart roaster oven, do you think that would work? Sort of like a giant wok? I don't have to use the same recipe. Lots of thoughts... I could blanch the broccoli ahead of time - or just use frozen that has been thawed? Cook the meat in the sauce until done, then add the broccoli. It sounds easy in my head, but I'm a novice cook and would like input from some of you experts.

BTW - when I made this last night, my meat steamed rather than fried. It released a lot of liquid and I think my stove is very wimpy - so I'm not too concerned about browning the meat. :-)

Thank-you!

Jeri

Here is a link that might be useful: Best Broccoli Beef

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Broccoli Beef for 70

Well....I think you are crazy....but also know you are a glutton for punishment....LOL!
Are you really up to thinly slicing 20 pounds of flank steak?.....and are you really ready for 40 kids to say...."Ewww broccoli!"....and how are you going to cook or keep hot 5 gallons of cooked rice? And another problem would be cooking the flank steak....you have to cook it very little to be tender....or a long time to get tender...

But if you are game for the problems, I would have the sauce simmering in the roaster....and have a big frying pan with a little oil and brown the beef in batches and toss into the sauce, adding thawed frozen broccoli flowerettes as you add the meat. and I would sub some carrot buttons just blanched to be crisp tender for about 1/3 of the broccoli.

The rice.....you will need to cook about 15 to1 6 cups of rice. You could do it in batches over a few days and refrigerate and then reheat....
But....really there are a lot of easier meals to do for a mob!!

o

Hi Linda!