Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Canning gifts, canning 101

Posted by jenn (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 18, 12 at 10:46

I am interested in recipes for gifts to give people who don't eat sweets and like foods with 'heat' (peppers, etc.). I have no experience in canning so that would be a first for me.

I asked this in Whatcha making for Christmas gifts this year??? and Booberry suggested I start my own thread and I agreed. :-) Annie recommended any recipes that use the 'hot water bath' method.

And so I Googled canning + "hot water bath". From the results, I picked this site which seems like a good place to start, plus she includes additional resources including a strong recommendation for the Ball Blue Book of Preserving, what she calls the "bible" of canning.

We have a large pot, and a round rack that fits in the bottom. Actually, it's a round cooling rack - would that work, or does it need to be a special heavy-duty rack made especially for canning with feet of a certain height?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Canning gifts, canning 101

Jenn,

Check out the Harvest Forum, that's where all of us canning addic....umm..enthusiasts hang out! :-)

You'll find lots of great canning information and recipes over there.

Here is a link that might be useful: Harvest Forum

o

I'd like to suggest taking a self-study coarse at the National Center for Home Food Preservation as a great way to get started.

My mother used jar rings to raise jars in a stockpot for years before she got a real canner/rack.

If you don't want to invest in a canner (although they are often discounted this time of the year), check your local stores that carry canning products, or on-line, for a BALL Home Canning Discovery Kit. It includes a canning rack with lifter that you can use to convert your stockpot into a canner.

Enjoy your new adventure!

-Grainlady

Here is a link that might be useful: National Center for Home Food Preservation

o