Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help! I have too much salt in my beans!

Posted by goodfun58 (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 26, 11 at 19:40

Can anyone help with any way to get out too much salt in my pinto beans. I put in too much salt pork and they are way too salty. Thanks for any help you ccan provide,

Sue

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help! I have too much salt in my beans!

Sue, I am no expert but I would try to drain the beans and rinse with fresh water. If you have other sauce which I'm assuming you do just pour off into a separate container and then rinse the beans and add the liquid back in. I hope I don't sound too simplistic. Good luck and beans to you!!!!!!!!!!!

Duane

o

Add sliced or diced potatoes to take up the excess salt. Potatoes need salt in cooking to enhance the flavour, so when you add them to an over-salted dish they sop up the excess, diluting the taste in each serving.

The potato trick works. If it's a soupy dish like soup, stew, or chili, you can add a few large pieces of potato and remove them after they are cooked so you don't have to eat the potato.

o

Thank you Duane and glenda I will try both of your ideas.

Thanks,

Sue

o

There is actually no way to remove salt once it has been added.

And the potato trick is actually just an old wives tale. A potato cooked in salted water will absorb just a small amount of salt. No more than any other vegetable added to salted water. It will not remove excess salt from an over salted pot of beans, soup, stew, etc...

If it was me I would cook another pot of beans, minus the salt and then add them to the pot of beans, that is over salted. Make sure you include the liquid from the fresh pot of beans. This should balance out the salt.

Ann

o