SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ritaweeda

Any Salmon Experts Out There?

ritaweeda
9 years ago

OK, I admit, I've never had the premium King or Coho salmon, we usually eat whatever is on sale, and my only source is the local grocery, there aren't any real seafood markets here. I buy mostly the farm-raised, once in awhile the Steelhead trout or rarely the Sockeye. And I'm not an expert on all the varieties. But today they had what they called Keta on sale at the grocer, the sign said Wild Alaskan Caught. So I bought some. It had a stronger taste and not as fatty as the farmed but it was edible. So I go online and look around and there was little good said about it, but these were mostly from folks up there in the far North who know and have more access to the good stuff. It is also called Chum salmon and Dog salmon. I was also told recently that the farm-raised are kept in filth and fed filth and that I should not touch it, but I do anyway. Anyone know the facts on it?

Comments (27)

• angelaid
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Having crab stuffed salmon (from Costco) for dinner tonight. It's in the oven now. Not sure I want to see the responses tonight. LOL

• dcarch7 d c f l a s h 7 @ y a h o o . c o m
    9 years ago

I eat salmon sushi, sous vide salmon, I make cold smoked salmon, hot smoke salmon, ----------.

I have noticed the big differences in pricing but not taste. They all taste basically the same to me.

I have read all kinds of "studies" and "reports". It seems to me over all it is healthier to eat farmed salmon. I am not that interested in debating this issue. I know there are a thousand reasons out there why farmed salmon is deadly.

dcarch

• Related Discussions

Any Hunter Pro-C controller experts out there?

Q

Comments (49)