Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Rising bread dough in the refrigerator

Posted by annie1971 (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 31, 08 at 12:56

I have a honey-lemon whole wheat bread recipe that I plan to make for the first time. After shaping the loaves, it says to let the dough rise in the refrigerator 1 to 2 hours. Does that sound right? Will the dough rise in a cold refrigerator? I've never done that before and wonder if anyone here has had success with this method.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Rising bread dough in the refrigerator

It should work just fine. There are lots of recipes that utilize the refrigerator (overnight cinnamon rolls and Betty Crocker's famous Potato Refrigerator Dough, etc.).

Dough rises slower in cold temperatures, but it DOES rise. The long, slow rise will help develop more flavor. I'd suggest using plastic wrap to cover the loaf. A refrigerator is a dry environment (due to the frost-free feature), if you use a cloth to cover the dough, moisture can be lost, or a "skin" develop on the dough surface from dehydration, and you won't get as much oven-spring when that happens.

You can place any yeast dough in the refrigerator - after it's kneaded, or after it's formed. If it's formed, then you will want to bake it as soon as it has "doubled". Unformed dough can be punched down while in the refrigerator. Refrigeration is called retarding the dough. You'll find it necessary when you have more dough than you have space in the oven to bake something. Retarding a portion of the dough/loaf/rolls is a way to prevent the extra amount from over-proofing until there is oven space for baking them.

-Grainlady

o

Annie this is not a highjack but I think this may have answered a question I was about to ask.