Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Roast Chicken for 40

Posted by Bev.Linda (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 20, 14 at 11:02

Hi! I have been reading posts from here for a while, but this is my first time writing one. I need some advice. I am having a party for around 40 people. We are doing roast chicken in pieces among other dishes. I was wondering if I could marinate and roast the chicken, then freeze it until the party, then thaw it and heat it up. Would it change the texture too much? I am all about preparing things beforehand if I can help it. Thank you for your answers. :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Roast Chicken for 40

I'm with you on preparing before hand. Cooked chicken can be successfully frozen and reheated, but it'll be more bother, and take just as much time, than just cooking it fresh! It's also better done if it's something you do all the time than something you're trying to get right, with no practice, for entertaining. If you're concerned about the prep time, you can break them down the day before, or have the butcher do it. If you're concerned about oven space, you might rent a catering oven, or get a countertop oven.

o

I think you also increase the chances of overcooking, under cooking, drying out or serving cold chicken. If the chicken will be cut in pieces, it doesn't take that much room to roast chicken for 40, especially if you do simple breasts and/or thighs. Do you have double ovens? I think mine would allow me to do the meat in one oven and the sides in the other. You can also plan sides that don't require the oven to help with logistics. But I think cooking, freezing and reheating the chicken would be more effort and less certain results.

o

I am figuring that you will need about 80 pieces or 10 whole birds. Since I am not that fond of frozen and re-heated chicken, can you make it the day before and just keep it cold?