SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sheshebop

Help! Canned spaghetti sauce from my own tomatoes?

sheshebop
15 years ago

Anybody got a recipe? I want to can my own spaghetti sauce from the tomatoes in my garden. I have never done it before. I sure could use a killer recipe.

Sherry

Comments (81)

• sheshebop
    Original Author
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Well, I am cooking the sauce right now. It takes forever to thicken.
    I have had a terrible disaster. My Ball Canning book that we each got at Canny Camp is missing. DH was the last to use it, and obviously he did not put it back where it goes. I wasted 1-1/2 hour today going everywhere imaginable to find one, to no avail. So, since I was not sure how to process with added zucchini, I left the zucchini out.
    I am so mad about that book. There is one at Maijer called Ball Blue Book of Preserving, but it's a whole lot of recipes and a bunch of stuff about freezing. That's not the one I want.
    The one we had would tell how long to process if BWB or if Pressure. This one in Meijer does not show that. For instance, it only shows how long to make spaghetti sauce in BWB. Anyway, I don't like that book. Waaaah.
    So, here it is, 7:34 at night and the sauce is STILL cooking down. At this rate, it will be about midnight before I can actually process this stuff.
    But boy, it sure is tasty! Great recipe!
    By the way, Ellen, I have found making the x in the tomato an unnecessary step. The skins slip off so easy without doing that , so I did not waste any time doing it.
    Sherry

• sheshebop
    Original Author
    15 years ago

OMG!!! My canner only held 7 quarts, and since I 5 times this recipe, it made 8 quarts, so we left one out and made spaghetti tonight. I have never, ever, ever had such good spaghetti sauce! It did not need meat at all it was so wonderful.
    Wow.