SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kjmama_gw

canning question

kjmama
10 years ago

Newbie here, how much can you can in a day- considering children are around:) Trying to decide between a 14 quart canner or a 7 quart.... thanks

Comments (30)

• User
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

If you have kids and access to cheap fruit and veggies I would go big- I have a 16 quart water bath canner it was great when I lived closer to the okanagan where you could pick up cheap fruit and gardens had huge harvests.

• grainlady_ks
    10 years ago

Welcome :-)

There are too many variables to give you solid information, but some things to consider....

-Would you normally have enough produce/meat to fill 14-quarts? In order to get the best use you would want to process a canner as full as possible.

-You have 14 jars to wash and keep warm, and a large amount of food to process and keep hot if you are hot packing.

-Would you use 14 quarts of something within a year, which is the suggested time for storing and using home-canned food.

-What kind of stove? Does it have a burner large enough and enough BTUs for the larger pressure canner?

I always did as much prep-work as possible the night before, including sanitizing the kitchen, setting out the equipment needed, filling pots with water, etc. I'm an early riser (I normally get up between 3:00-3:30 a.m.), so I could have most of my canning done before the kids were up and around in the summer; as well as taking advantage of doing it during the cooler hours of the day.

I do more dehydrating these days to save energy costs for home food preservation (canning takes a LOT of energy - heating the canner as well as additional stress on the air conditioner), and what little water bath canning I do I use the Ball Home Canning Discovery Kit (around $12 where canning supplies are sold) because I can use my stock pot and do 3 quarts at a time, which works well for my needs.

-Grainlady

• Related Discussions