Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
need fool proof dill pickle canning recipe

Posted by casi (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 15, 11 at 21:50

hope you can help me out. I am a newbie....about 40 yrs ago I tried and I had soft pickles and I never did it again!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: need fool proof dill pickle canning recipe

Oh boy, have you come to the right place. Chase's dill pickles are famous. I hope someone posts the recipe, I'm at Elery's and don't have it here but my Dad was a dill pickle expert and he loved them.

You must use fresh cucumbers, pack them in ice, cut off the blossom end which has enzymes that cause softening. Pickle Crisp will help and you should always refrigerate them before you eat them. And use Chase's recipe!

Annie

o

Sharon's Dill Pickles are the best!!!!!!!!!!!!

Chase's Dills
=============
I have no idea what exactly makes these pickles so good so I am religious about
following the steps to the tee!
I make these a bushel at a time, each bushel yields about 50 jars. If using
less than a bushel you can usually count on between 6-8 dills (cukes) per 1
quart jar, depending on size
Use 3" to 4" cukes that have just been picked. I get mine at the market and
always insist on cukes that have been picked that morning or the day before at
the earliest.
Place the cukes in ice cold water (I use my bath tub!!) and add a bag or two of
ice to the water. The cukes should stay in the ice water for a minimum of 2
hours but no more than 8. Refresh the ice as required.
I make the brine in great big batches using this ratio:
2 cups white vinegar
6 cups water
1/3 cup coarse pickling salt
For each jar of dills you will need 2 nice size garlic cloves peeled and cut in
half (4 pieces) and two dill florets. Use the dill heads not that fluffy stuff!
So if you are doing a bushel....that is 50 jars so you need 100 dill florets
and 100 garlic cloves. Leave the cukes whole.
. Now here is where the canning police and I part ways. This is how I do