Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Canning - at what point do I start the timer for a "boiling bath"

Posted by skc1962 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 24, 14 at 14:24

I've been canning for a couple of years now, but have a question regarding statements like these I find in recipes: "process in a boiling water canner for 15 minutes." At what point does the timer start for the 15 minutes? The water is boiling when I submerge the jars, but it usually takes 10 minutes for the water to return to a rolling boil. So does the timer start when I submerge them into the boiling water, or once the water returns to a boil. One of my recipes states "when it returns", the other does not. TIA! Sharon

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Canning - at what point do I start the timer for a "boiling b

Time STARTS when the water comes back to a boil. If it is taking a lot of time, your range may not be large enough to generate enough BTUs to do a good job, or your canner may be too large for your stove.

Check the link below.

-Grainlady

Here is a link that might be useful: New To Canning

o

Awesome link! Thank you!

o

I agree, the timer starts when the water returns to a boil. However, even on my extremely cheap and not exactly new gas stove, that only takes 4 or 5 minutes. I agree that your stove might not be handling the size of the canner efficiently.

It's funny, I've been canning all my life and suddenly, it's popular again. All the "church grandmas" gave me their canning jars years ago, when they couldn't even give them away, and now they are a hot commodity on the online auctions and second hand stores. I guess it's come full circle.

Anyway, here's another link with some good recipes, I have the Cinnamon Red Hot pickles ready for the jar tomorrow, using zucchini instead of cucumbers. I'll let you know how that went, LOL. I think the jalapenos and pineapple will be next.

Annie

Here is a link that might be useful: Canning Homemade

o