Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Your Favorite Sangria recipe....

Posted by bizzo (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 2, 11 at 8:13

OK, the wha'cha'drinkin' thread got me thinkin'. Teresa mentioned Sangria, and I think I'll make some this weekend... but I need to get ingredients today.

There are so many different variations... what do you like in your Sangria? Do you have a favorite recipe? Please share! Red... White... whatever!!

tia!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Your Favorite Sangria recipe....

I have been making this Sangria for 30 years. I've tried others including white, but this Sangria is by far my favourite.

Although you don't have to use an expensive wine to make Sangria, you do want to use a full bodied red that you would actually drink on its own. A decent wine does make a better Sangria.

Spanish Sangria
===============
Source: Barbara Hansen's Mexican Cookery (1981)

1 bottle, dry full bodied red wine
2 tablespoon orange liqueur (Grand Marnier or Triple Sec)
1/3 cup of simple syrup
1 lime thinly sliced
1 orange thinly sliced
1 lemon thinly sliced
Juice of one orange
1 cup club soda

Combined wine, syrup, Grand Marnier or Triple Sec and orange juice and stir. Add sliced fruit and just before serving add the soda water.

Do not let the fruit slices sit in the Sangria for more than one hour before serving as the peels can cause the drink to be bitter.

Simple Syrup

1 cup sugar
1 cup water

Bring water and sugar to a boil and simmer until liquid is clear and the sugar has dissolved. Pour in to jar and refrigerate. Keep for 3 weeks.

o

Here is a recipe we have been making for many years. I have it posted over in the beverage forum. Our local vegetable stand has it posted on the wall next to the cash register. That's where we get our fruit for it.
Wayne's Sangria

1 ripe nectarine-pitted and sliced
1 ripe apricot-pitted and sliced
5 strawberries-sliced
1 orange-slice to 1/8" thick
1/4 cup orange liquor-Grand Marnier,Cointreau,or Triple Sec