Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How much is a sprig?

Posted by dedtired (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 27, 13 at 17:48

I'm looking at a recipe and it calls for two sprigs of basil. Is that two leaves? Two stems and all the leaves? What the heck is a sprig?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How much is a sprig?

I am no expert on sprigs, pinches, or dashes but I would probably put in two medium-sized leaves.

o

What are you making? I would consider a sprig a stem with a few leaves. And it would depend on what I was making as to the size of sprig I would use. Also some sprigs have large leaves and some sprigs have small leaves.

With ingredients like fresh herbs, you can pretty much season according to your own taste.

~Ann

o

And here I interpreting sprig to mean a portion of a branch/plant. In other words more than a leaf.

o

A sprig does include part of the stem. I don't think it's particularly necessary to include the stem part, it's just a bit quicker. It's also easier to remove a sprig from a dish than the individual leaves. Personally I like to see the leaves.

o

It's this One Pan Pasta. Actually, now that I look at the picture, it looks like part of the stem with a few leaves attached. What do you think of the recipe?

Here is a link that might be useful: one pan pasta

o

I think a sprig of an herb is the same as a snippet - a sprig is a type of snippet. Normally I use sprigs only with thyme, rosemary, and oregano and usually only when I want to remove the stems after cooking - this is especially helpful with thyme, as it eliminates the need to remove the leaves from the stems. I seldom use who sprigs of basil, and I usually make a chiffonade instead.

The recipe looks fine to me and proves that you can boil pasta in a small amount of water. The time does not add up, however, as it lists 15 minutes prep time, 20 minutes total time, and 9 minutes cooking time. When I add 15+ 9, I get 24 minutes instead of 20.

Lars

o