SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sally2_gw

White Spelt flour as substitute for all purpose flour?

sally2_gw
13 years ago

My DS #2 moved across the country, and left me with much of his food, including white spelt flour. Last night I made a starter for ciabatta, but realized I'm out of all purpose flour. I have whole wheat flour and the white spelt flour on hand. Could I substitute the white spelt flour for all purpose flour? I've never used spelt flour before. As it is, the recipe I'm using is a white bread recipe, so using whole wheat flour is already an aberration from the original. This recipe is from The King Arthur Flour Baker's Companion. I've made it according to the recipe several times, and it is very good. Now I'm ready to play with the recipe.

Biga

1/4 teaspoon instant yeast

1/2 cup (4 ounces) water

1 1/2 cup (6 1/4 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour

Dough

1 teaspoon (a very scant 1/8 ounce) instant yeast

2 teaspoons (1/8 ounce) nonfat dry milk

1 1/2 teaspoons (1/4 ounce) salt

3/4 cup plus 3 tablespoons (7 3/4 ounces) water*

1 tablespoon (3/8 ounce) olive oil

2 cups 8 1/2 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour

* Use an additional 2 to 3 tablespoons water in the winter, or in very dry weather conditions.

To make the biga: Mix all the ingredients in a medium-sized bowl. cover the bowl, and let it rest for about 12 hours, or overnight.

For the dough: Use your fingers to pull the biga into walnut-sized pieces, and place the pieces into the bowl of an electric mixer. Add the yeast, dry milk, salt, water, olive oil, and flour, and beat slowly with a flat beater paddle or beaters for about 3 minutes. Replace the beater paddle with the dough hook, increase the speed to medium, and knead for 10 minutes. Teh dough should be very sticky and slack. Transfer the dough to a lightly greased bowl or dough-rising bucket, cover the bowl or bucket, andlet the dough rise for 2 to 3 hours, gently deflating it and turning it over every 45 minutes or so.