Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
White Spelt flour as substitute for all purpose flour?

Posted by sally2 (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 13, 10 at 13:12

My DS #2 moved across the country, and left me with much of his food, including white spelt flour. Last night I made a starter for ciabatta, but realized I'm out of all purpose flour. I have whole wheat flour and the white spelt flour on hand. Could I substitute the white spelt flour for all purpose flour? I've never used spelt flour before. As it is, the recipe I'm using is a white bread recipe, so using whole wheat flour is already an aberration from the original. This recipe is from The King Arthur Flour Baker's Companion. I've made it according to the recipe several times, and it is very good. Now I'm ready to play with the recipe.

Biga

1/4 teaspoon instant yeast
1/2 cup (4 ounces) water
1 1/2 cup (6 1/4 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour

Dough

1 teaspoon (a very scant 1/8 ounce) instant yeast
2 teaspoons (1/8 ounce) nonfat dry milk
1 1/2 teaspoons (1/4 ounce) salt
3/4 cup plus 3 tablespoons (7 3/4 ounces) water*
1 tablespoon (3/8 ounce) olive oil
2 cups 8 1/2 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour

* Use an additional 2 to 3 tablespoons water in the winter, or in very dry weather conditions.

To make the biga: Mix all the ingredients in a medium-sized bowl. cover the bowl, and let it rest for about 12 hours, or overnight.