SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jakkom

Tapas report: tuna, steak, octopus, and unusual beets

jakkom
10 years ago

Yes, I do enjoy cooking...but I've been doing it for over 50 yrs and prefer to dine out. We are retired and travel around the San Francisco Bay Area where we live, staying several days in mid-week, hopping from restaurant to restaurant. We usually make 6-8 trips annually.

We just came back from a week-long swing thru Sonoma County/Mendocino. The best restaurant of the dozen we tried this time was Bravas Tapas Bar, in Healdsburg, CA. Part of a local upscale management group, each of their restaurants is different. Although we haven't cared for the previous ones we tried, Bravas is the newest and has garnered a lot of positive word-of-mouth.

So we went, and are glad we did! The food was overall excellent, with four tapas particularly well-done. We had seven dishes total, but these four really stood out. The best was a remarkable beet salad that would be very easy to duplicate at home - hence, this post.

I thought some of the good cooks here might be interested in recreating it for themselves. My foodie nephew loves making tapas for his parties, so maybe you do, too. Me, I'd rather order it and have it served, with no dishes to wash!

(Sorry I didn't take photos, I always neglect to do that)

Two of the best four were cold:

1) Tuna belly salad. The tuna was small, thin slices of gently cooked tuna - cooked thru, not just seared - with shreds of peeled celery, fennel, red onion. The green olive slices added a nice piquancy. Black sturgeon roe was roughly smeared into a paste with squid ink to form a tasty dressing. It might have looked strange, everything mixed (by the diners) with that black dressing, but I found it refreshing, with that salty seafood flavor which added the same kind of umami depth which anchovies usually provide.