SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
thibeaultstable

Rhubarb Pie

ann_t
10 years ago

My rhubarb is growing like crazy. I usually make my first rhubarb pie of the season in April so I'm almost a month behind.

Late yesterday afternoon I decided to bake a pie. Knowing it wouldn't be cool enough to slice, and also knowing that Moe was going to feel deprived if he had to wait, I also made stewed rhubarb.

Moe had pie with his morning coffee.

This is my favourite rhubarb pie. A Madame Benoit recipe. One that I have been baking for 35 years.

Rhubarb Pie

Source: Madame Benoit Cooks at Home 1978

4 cups rhubarb, cut in to 1/2 inch pieces

2 eggs

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 tablespoons flour

pinch of salt

juice of 1/2 small lemon

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

pastry for two crusts

1 tablespoon sugar

Roll out dough for bottom crust and line pie plate with pastry. Beat eggs lightly, and then stir in brown and white sugars, flour, lemon juice, salt and extract. Mix in rhubarb.

Pour into pour in to pie shell.

Roll out remaining pastry and cut into strips. Weave pastry strips over top and sprinkle with remaining tablespoon of sugar.

Bake in a 450°F oven on bottom shelf for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 350° and move pie to middle of the oven. Continue baking for 25 to 35 minutes.

~Ann

Comments (26)

• User
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

That is THE prettiest pie I have ever seen ! I love rhubarb. I grew up eating it in OH. When we were on Poland in 1989 we visited a home in late April . They were having a family birthday party. We were lucky to be invited. They served a sweetened rhubarb compote/drink in crystal glasses. It was the most refreshing and lovely drink I have ever had. It is made I think just like the stewed rhubarb but runnier...it did have small chunks. I wish I had some of your pie !! c

• KatieC
    10 years ago