Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Adding coconut oil to diet

Posted by debrak_2008 (My Page) on
Wed, May 23, 12 at 10:53

Hi. First time here, usually in Kitchens.

I'm interested in adding coconut oil to my diet for health reasons.

Trying to find ideas other than just using coconut oil instead of other oils in receipes. It sounds like you need to have 2 to 3 tbs. per day. How do you add that much?

One idea I read is to add it to hot tea. That just sounds so gross to me.

Please post with any ideas! Thank you

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Adding coconut oil to diet

Are you a smoothie drinker? That would make a fine addition to a smoothie. What health benefit is there? Just interested.

Hello from Robin!

o

As for health benefits here are some I have read about from several sources. I am not an expert so please do your own research if interested.

speeds up conversion of food to energy

helps with weight loss

helps with yeast infections

good natural moisturizer for skin and hair

These are just a brief list.

As for smoothies I usually don't drink them. I do have a protein drink most days. I suppose I could add some oil to it....not sure what it will do to the taste.

I actually hate the taste of actual coconut. I did notice the oil (which is solid) does not have a coconut smell. Used it on someones sunburn. Not sure how much it helped.

Going to have some vegetable soup today so I will add a little and see what happens.

o

It has a lower melting point than butter, but I mix it with butter, which I keep in a small covered bowl on the counter anyway. You can use it on toast or hot cereal in place of or mixed with butter, and it can be used in baked goods. I have used it instead of shortening or butter for biscuits. When chilled, it is harder than butter so you have to find a happy medium for cutting it into the flour.