Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What's a good price for rhubarb?

Posted by lpinkmountain (My Page) on
Mon, May 10, 10 at 8:44

I saw some great looking rhubarb at the grocery last weekend, and it is rare to see it anywhere around here. But it was 3.49/lb. and my rule is no more than 2 bucks a pound for produce. Most of the rhubarb I've had in my life has come from someone's garden. Do any of you buy rhubarb at a market, and if so, how much does it cost? If I find some at a good price I might buy it and freeze it. It might be worth it to buy the rhubarb at a higher price for jam, but I've never been able to get rhubarb jam to set up, and I'm kind of sick of rhubarb sauce, which is what I've been eating for the past two years!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What's a good price for rhubarb?

I bought rhubarb for the first time yesterday. It is very nice looking as far I could tell. I paid 2.99 a pound at Raley's in Modesto, CA. This store isn't the cheapest in town nor the most expensive.

o

It is in our grocery stores anywhere from $1.99 to $2.99 per pound. I picked up 4 bunches of rhubarb at the farmers market yesterday for $1.00 per bunch. Each bunch weighing a pound.

Ann

o

I just pulled rhubarb, and I'm just starting to see it in the stores here. Right now it's anywhere from $1.49 to $2.49 a pound, but it'll be cheaper in a week or two.

I made rhubarb pie for Mother's Day with mine.

Annie

o

Here is central Maryland I usually pay $2.99 - $3.99 a pound at the grocery store. Safeway usually has the best looking rhubarb of all the grocery stores. The other stores usually have a meager selection of limp rhubarb.

I usually only buy it once a year for my annual rhubarb pie so I don't object much to the price.

The farmers markets are just opening, so it may be cheaper there.

o