Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
how do you preserve freshness of homemade bread?

Posted by natalija_gardener (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 15, 10 at 16:34

I wrap it in plastic, but it dries pretty quick since it does not have any preservatives. I am new to home breadmaking. I would use Ziploc, but often size of my bread too big for the size of Ziplocs I have.
Any advise on that?
Thanks for any help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: how do you preserve freshness of homemade bread?

I'm not sure you really can.

You'll probably hear suggestions to freeze the bread, and defrost when you want to eat some. However, in my experience, I've found that defrosted bread tastes like the ice box, or just never tastes that great in general. Even when toasted. (JMHO)

o

thanks Duchapm!
I used to freeze store bough bread all the time.I would buy two Sprouted Breads in Costco and freeze one. I did not mind the taste, becuse store bread not that tasty anyway.Now I bake one loaf myself in Zo. We have family of three so we pretty much eat one loaf in three- four days but it just dries too quickly, compared to store-bought. I would prefer the other method than freezing though for home-made. May be I need to find bigger Ziplocs or just cut bread in two and put it in two separate bags.
May be somebody else could share their methods?

o

Have you seen these Hefty jumbo size bags? They work great for oversize items like a loaf of bread. Also, you can research this yourself but when I was making a lot of homemade bread I read that it needs to be exposed to a tiny bit of air so I would take a toothpick and poke a few holes the ziploc to give it a bit of air. This is actually supposed to make the bread last longer.

Tracey

Here is a link that might be useful: Hefty jumbo bags

o