Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
cooks illustrated cookbooks

Posted by footballmom (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 10, 14 at 16:25

Have you used any of the cooks illustrated cookbooks? I know they don't have calorie counts, but I am looking for a way to improve my cooking and increase my repetoire of recipes. I have been cooking for over 30 years and am just bored with making the same things every week. It is also soon going to be an empty nest and I find I am still making enough for a family instead of just my DH and I. I would like to change things up and eat at home more. DH would like to eat out more, but I enjoy cooking and think I am not only saving money but saving time by doing so.
Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: cooks illustrated cookbooks

Check the public library (as well as inter-library loan) for Cook's Illustrated Cookbooks (as well as cooking videos). Our library is rich in cookbooks, books on cooking science, budget cooking, cooking for a crowd, vegetarian, vegan, lots of ethnic cooking, cooking with tea/coffee, home canning, solar cooking, diets of every sort......

I have "The NEW Best Recipe" book from Cook's Illustrated and have only tried 2 recipes out of the 1,000 in the book. I also have 7 books from America's Test Kitchen, and not very many recipes used in those, either.

For years I've tried to make one new recipe each week, and this year my goal is 3 new recipes each week (so far so good). That's pretty easy to do now that we are wheat-free and I have that as a new focus.

A lot of my new recipes go along with classes I teach, so if you are handy in the teaching area, check with your local Food Bank, Senior Center, 4-H Clubs, and put your skills to work sharing them.

I KNOW I can save money by cooking at home, and we rarely go out to eat. I love cooking ahead and making my freezer my "friend".