Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Wild Yeast Sourdough with something extra...

Posted by trailrunner (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 13, 14 at 16:24

I have been baking with wild yeast sourdough for about 4 years . I started a culture from flour and water and never looked back. What a joy to bake without yeast and to explore the world of sourdough baking.I have baked bread since the mid-70's and had always used commercial yeast.

I keep my starter in the fridge between uses. I feed it whatever I am in the mood to feed it ;) This bake was with whole spelt and apple yeast water. I sometimes feed it kamut, or rye, and use whey for the liquid. I have fed it semolina and white AP flour as well. I sometimes divide the starter and feed 1/2 with one thing and the other 1/2 with something else and use both in the same batch of bread. You can see that there is an infinite variety that only your imagination can limit. I get many ideas from The Fresh Loaf and bread baking forum. My recipe for the original starter came from there as well as the apple yeast water.

One can make fruit yeast water from almost anything. Again only your imagination limits you. It is easiest to start with apple and explore from there. If anyone is interested I can explain how to do it. It is very easy and only takes four days.