Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Do you like your food mill

Posted by olga_6b (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 25, 12 at 15:53

I am considering buying a food mill. I am a serious cook and make a lot of preserves, sauces, etc. but somehow was always using a mesh strainer and a spoon instead of food mill. Recent post about tomato sauce and comment from somebody that you can't make sause w/o mill made me wonder, if I am missing something. Of course I know you can make a lot of good sauce with just strainer, but it is always quite intense and, as with age my wrists are not what they used to be, I probably will benefit from food mill.
If you have one that you like, please tell me which brand. I will probably use it a lot, so I need it to be reliable and robust. Thank you very much in advance.
Olga

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Do you like your food mill

Hi! I love my Victorio Strainer. Got my first one back in 1983 when the woman who owned the oldest orchard in Madison County, Indiana lived down the road from us and showed me how she did tons of apples for apple butter with it. Went and bought one right away and have been so happy with it. Unfortunately, when we moved to our present location in 1987, DH stored it somewhere and I never did find it. Got on Ebay and bought another one. Went back on Ebay and bought another one for my sister. Wouldn't be without one now.

o

I have a Foley food mill and one of those chinese hat things with the wooden masher.....AND a cuisinart, which I use lots more than either of the other two.
I only use a mill when I want to separate seeds and skin from pulp....as in apples and cranberries to make jelly.
For peaches, blue berries, pears, strawberries, cherries etc...I just zap the fruit in the FP.

Linda C

o

I have Mother's old Squeezo, the all metal precursor to the Victorio. Elery has a Victorio, with a lot more plastic parts. Both work fine.