Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Sausage

Posted by cookie8 (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 15, 13 at 11:22

I want to make a whack of "sausages" to have for breakfast. Personally, I don't care for sausage but want a little more protein for myself and the kids. I bought four packages of ground turkey and am looking for ideas or straight up instructions on making sausage. I won't be using casings. Yes, I am a total amateur. Thanks for any tips.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Sausage

I took a class on sausage making years ago, and if you ask me it's all about the seasonings, so I'd suggest checking out Penzeys Spices while you're seeking recipes. I've used their Breakfast Sausage Seasoning mixture for years and you will find a number of spice/seasoning mixtures from Penzeys that might help you out - either to purchase or make-your-own mixtures.

I often grind my own meat mixtures, or I've also used homemade ground gluten (aka "wheat meat" or seitan) to make "sausage". Although I've made a lot of patties over the years, more often than not these days I'll fry-off the bulk sausage (like you would hamburger - what my MIL called "scrambled") and package it in small containers destined for the freezer. Now I can use it in any number of things - add to eggs, topping for pizza, added to a casserole, etc. - much easier than using patties.

Another make-ahead and freeze breakfast favorite is a version of Jimmy Dean Sausage Cheese Balls, which are more often used as appetizers, but we like them as a breakfast meat. I make it with homemade or commercial bulk sausage, and instead of Bisquick (baking mix) I make a gluten-free, low-carb version, but the results are the same. They freeze nicely and reheat in a toaster oven or probably in a microwave.

-Grainlady

Here is a link that might be useful: Turkey Breakfast Sausage

o