Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What brand of all purpose flour?

Posted by papillon1 (My Page) on
Thu, Feb 14, 13 at 12:20

I have not been happy with the flour I'm presently using. King Arthur's unbleached is what it is. What brand do you prefer?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What brand of all purpose flour?

What is available and what I can afford is either Pillsbury Unbleached A-P flour or Gold Medal unbleached a-p flour. I think both are very good for my purposes, breadmaking, a cake now and then, cookies sometimes, etc.

Teresa

o

I have used White Lily for many years. However, I am not a prolific baker, just biscuits, a few cakes and cookies.

I use White Lily Bread Flour for yeast breads and other baked goods that require kneading of the dough.

o

King arthur seems to have higher protein%. Infact their website has yeast bread recipes that use their AP flour instead of the bread flour.

o

What all-purpose flour you use should be determined by what you want to make with it and how much protein/gluten you need.

Southern All-Purpose Flour (White Lily, Martha White, Gladiola, Red Band) - 9 g. protein - milled from soft wheat varieties - work best for baked goods where you don't want a lot of gluten development, such as pie crusts, biscuits, quick breads, muffins

National Brand All-Purpose Flour (Gold Medal, Pillsbury) - 11 g. protein - milled from a blend of hard and soft wheat. A little too much protein for best pie crusts, quick breads, muffins, or pancakes; too little protein to make outstanding yeast breads. As the name indicates - all purposes - but it's not the optimal flour for most things we make with it.

Northern All-Purpose flour (Robin Hood, Hecker's) - 11-12 g. protein. Use for yeast breads, cream puffs, puff pastry.

King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour - 13 g. protein. Use for yeast breads, cream puffs, puff pastry, pasta, pizza.