Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Any difference btw cocoa and cacao?

Posted by AnnieDeighnaugh (My Page) on
Wed, Feb 19, 14 at 8:56

I'm taking this "cleanse" class and the teacher gave us small cacao bites and told us this was "real" chocolate as opposed to what we think of as chocolate and that cocoa was not cacao....

What's the scoop on this stuff?
TIA!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Any difference btw cocoa and cacao?

I've been using cacao nibs for a couple years, and in November/December used cacao powder instead of cocoa for the first time for making Christmas goodies, with great results. I use cacao nibs in cookies and homemade food bars, granola and trail mix .

So what's the big difference.... Cacao is rich with all sorts of vitamins and minerals like calcium, iron and antioxidants. However, once it has been processed for cocoa, they lose much of it. Cocoa and cacao are both products from the same plant with the difference in the processing. It's only been available in the U.S. for about 10-years.

If you want a 1-2 punch for some energy with a boost of nutrients, snack on a few cacao nibs and some goji berries. No candy bar, pop/soda, or cup of coffee needed ;-).

"Raw cacao promotes the release of neurotransmitters, which promote a positive outlook and bodily rejuvenation, and release feel-good hormones. Raw cacao raises levels of serotonin, a neurotransmitter, and acts as an anti-depressant that can help reduce symptoms of PMS. It also stimulates the secretion of endorphins, which produce a pleasurable sensation, and phenylethylamine which is a mild mood booster. It also releases anandamide which promotes elation and helps us feel good longer." (source: http://www.livestrong.com/article/522112-health-benefits-of-raw-cacao-nibs/).

-Grainlady

Here is a link that might be useful: Nuts.com - cacao nibs

o