Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
cooking beef roast...

Posted by carolssis (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 28, 14 at 7:33

My husband brought home a beef roast. Among other things he also brought home celery. I've been cooking for 45 years, and have not used celery with beef, I usually pair it with chicken or turkey. He made a comment, that if I don't like celery, nobody gets it. The only thing I could think of to say was that celery is usually not used with beef because it's too sweet. Any comments or suggestions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: cooking beef roast...

It's just a taste preference. I don't use celery with a pot roast. But I do use celery in vegetable beef soup or beef stew.

Suggestions? If you don't like celery with a roast don't use it. With regard to people "don't get it?" Hmmm ... people? Or is it just your husband? :-)

Just for fun why don't you cut the roast in half and bake two roasts. In one pan add the usual ingredients you use. In the other pan the usual ingredients plus the celery.

Report back on the outcome! Welcome to the CF. I don't recall seeing you here before - or maybe I just missed you.

Teresa in sub-zero Minnesota

o

I use celery with roast sometimes. My mom always did so I guess it's what I'm used to. Like teresa said, maybe try it and see if you like it. I don't find it to be sweet, onions can be sweet and carrots but not celery.

o

I often use celery when making roast beef (onion, carrots, potatoes and occasionally I'll add wedges of cabbage and fresh green beans as well - a good time to clear out the crisper drawer). I guess I like to do one-pan cooking and this combination is what is often called Yankee or New England Pot Roast. Was your hubby raised in the northeast where this type of recipe would have been common?

I also add celery to my Sloppy Joe recipe, another beef recipe.

-Grainlady

o