Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
nutmeg grater?

Posted by lizbeth-gardener (My Page) on
Thu, Feb 27, 14 at 1:55

Is there such a thing as a nutmeg grater that does a good job, lets you use all (or most of) the whole nutmeg without grating your fingers?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: nutmeg grater?

Our nutmeg that you buy in jars comes with a little grater that works well - it's very fine.But of course that doesn't help you at all;)

o

I have no experience with the following, but it looks like it might fit the bill.... I use my microplane and just toss the last of it when there is a risk of grating my fingers too.

Alexa

Here is a link that might be useful: Nutmeg Mill

o

My first one was the real-deal grater with the little compartment at the top where you stored the nutmeg. A real knuckle buster. I also had a nutmeg mill similar to the one caliloo linked to, and it made nutmeg shavings, instead of grating the nutmeg, which are NOT suitable for human consumption; and wouldn't grind the entire nutmeg, either. It was a birthday gift, and I was so disappointed in the quality of the grind and I never could get it to stay adjusted properly. But perhaps it was the brand, and I'm not sure what it was. Now I use a microplane and try to avoid "skin". I buy Frontier Certified Organic Nutmeg and the package has 9-10 nutmegs in it.

-Grainlady

o

I'm almost hesitant to recommend the Microplane Grate and Shake because I can sympathize with some of the negative comments in the reviews. When I first got it I hated it, seemed fussy and overcomplicated, but once I got used to it I really liked it.

What I've not experienced is the chipping and breaking of the plastic that some report. I've had mine at least a dozen years and it's been tossed around and dropped plenty, with no issues.