SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
party_music50

Citric acid powder?

party_music50
10 years ago

I'm thinking that citric acid powder might be perfect for adding to a bland salsa or other bland tomato dish -- especially when I don't want to add more liquid or any particular lemon/vinegar flavor. I've never used it before... is this a good idea?

Does anyone here use citric acid powder and for what purpose?

Comments (16)

• jimster
    10 years ago

Citric acid powder is also known as sour salt. I have some but haven't used it for the purpose you mention. It seems like an excellent idea.

Jim

• malna
    10 years ago

I use it all the time. Not only for canning tomatoes, but a pinch on fresh fruit (lovely on fresh watermelon in the summer - like a Sweet-Tart), in tomato-based sauces, basically anywhere I want a "sparkle" of flavor.

Put a tablespoon in the rinse cycle of your dishwasher if you have hard water. Cuts the lime deposits and makes the glassware squeaky clean.

• Related Discussions

Organic Fertilizer

Q

Comments (2)
    Perhaps related: PLOS ONE: Fruit and Soil Quality of Organic and Conventional Strawberry Agroecosystems
    ...See More

Citric acid

Q

Comments (4)
    Agree - you don't want to reduce the liquid amount in hot sauces. It serves multiple purposes. Once the correct consistency is reached you can add citric acid to further acidify but it doesn't replace the liquids. A very general guideline is the label instructions given per size of jar used but whether that is sufficient for every food is an unknown. The more low acid pH of the food used the more citric acid required. Tomatoes are borderline low acid pH, peppers are more alkaline. Dave
    ...See More

Citric acid, cinnamon stick, peaches....

Q

Comments (2)
    You do not need to add citric acid or bottled lemon juice to the peaches. Yes, a dried cinnamon stick is safe to add.
    ...See More

Dishwasher Magic / Citric Acid

Q

Comments (7)