SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
chase_gw

My sideline.....hooking!

chase_gw
18 years ago

Just thought you may be interested in seeing examples of my hooking. Now remmeber I'm a novice hooker. Just working on my fourth piece. The hooking I am learning to do is traditional hooking not latch hooking. We use pure wool which we hand dye, cut it in strips and then bring through the canvas in small loops. I haven't mastered the dyeing part yet but thats this Springs challenge. The thing I find difficult is deciding what colours to use, no paint by numbers happening, just a blank canvas with a pattern printed on it.

My first rug was a fun piece for my niece, never took pics. Here is my second trick, I mean rug

. As you can see it isn't finished yet. I'm a great starter......

Here is my third rug

. A little closer look at the

Must admit I'm pretty proud of that Monarch! Need to bind and set this one too.... : (

Now I'm working on a very large rug for the cottage, 4' X 6', it's a cottage country pictorial and very challenging.

Comments (29)

• Gina_W
    18 years ago

Those are beautiful Sharon. How long does it take you?

• teresa_nc7
    18 years ago

Very nice, Sharon! I am totally impressed! Please be sure to post the cottage rug when it is finished.

Teresa

• canarybird01
    18 years ago

Aren't you a clever girl Sharon ! Those are beautiful.

Looking forward to seeing the big one when it's finished too.

I bet one of those will look great in your cottage.

SharonCb

• ann_t
    18 years ago

Well now I know what you have been up to. I like them both, but I especially love the Oak leaf, the pattern and the colours. Beautiful.

Ann

• annie1992
    18 years ago

I agree, Ann, I like that Oak Leaf rug with the various browns and creams. The colors are very nice.

Sharon, you are getting to be quite an accomplished hooker, and you seem to enjoy it. Maybe we could call you the Happy Hooker? Of course, that's already been done, but still....