Return to the Cooking Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Anybody taken advantage of Coursera?

Posted by triciae (My Page) on
Thu, Sep 20, 12 at 12:56

I've been purchasing courses from The Teaching Company for almost ten years and love them. Value for cost expended is outstanding. Selection is also outstanding - hundreds available. Professors are considered the best in the country for their chosen field. Keeps my brain active, ya know.

Now, I'm considering taking advantage of Coursera. They're free and given from the world's best universities. I'm not interested in this but for those who might be - there's no credit but certificate programs are available.

Anyway, wondering if anybody's has taken one of these classes and what they think? This semester, there are 195 classes offered. I guess offerings are different each semester.

/tricia

Here is a link that might be useful: Coursera

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Anybody taken advantage of Coursera?

I checked out your link. Lots of interesting courses. I love to learn just for the sake of learning. I might check out some future courses. Thanks for the tip.
Clare

o

I find it interesting you're saying this tricia. I hadn't heard of them. My employer just joined them, until yesterday. They made our announcement on campus yesterday. Here's what we're doing this time around:

� Online Games: Literature, New Media, and Narrative,
� Research Data Management: Best Practice and Applied Methods
� Innovation Strategy: Managing Innovation and Creativity in Individuals, Groups, and Organizations
� Nutrition, Health, and Lifestyle: Issues and Insights
� Pattern-Oriented Software Architectures for Concurrent and Networked Software

Should be interesting to see what people end up thinking about what is going on out there. I don't choose our courses, so don't ask me! But there you have it.

o

Thanks for the responses.