SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
publickman

Father needs to go to a nursing home

Lars
12 years ago

I have no experience with this, but my father can no longer take care of himself at home, and my mother is also incapable of helping him. He is a veteran of WWII, and my brother and sister in Texas think he should move to the Veteran's nursing home in Temple, about 10 miles from where he lives now. I cannot picture him there, but I also cannot picture him in the condition he is in at home either. He has not left the house in over a week, can barely move, and my mother has now agreed to diaper him. Also, I do not know how any of us would pay for the nursing home, and I am having trouble even thinking about it. Where should I go for help? My sister is an attorney, but she specialized in banking law. She had larengitis when I called her last night, and so I had Kevin call our brother in Texas who is staying with our parents at the moment while his house is being remodeled, but he will be going back to his house in two weeks. Last week one of my brother's carpenters was killed on the highway by a woman who had been stopped three times earlier in the day but never arrested. I guess she will be charged with manslaughter now.

My last remaing aunt (Dad's sister) died last week at a nursing home in NM, and I found out that my father's kidneys are now operating at 1/2 capacity. I'm still trying to get over a persistent cold and am seeing my doctor tomorrow morning. I may ask him to recommend a psychiatrist for me.

Lars

Comments (40)

• centralcacyclist
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

http://www.dads.state.tx.us/services/faqs-fact/pace.html

http://www.dads.state.tx.us/services/index.cfm

http://www.dads.state.tx.us/

Lars, I'm so sorry. I did a quick search for social services for the elderly in TX and have these links. It's a place to start.