Return to the Computer Help Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
converting html to pdf

Posted by mlou_51 (My Page) on
Wed, Dec 29, 10 at 19:28

I have lots of ebooks in the html format. What's the best (and hopefully cheapest) way to convert them to a pdf so they can be read on the PDN? I've been saving ebooks since 2005 so I have alot. Mixed bag of htmls and pdfs. thanks, Mlou

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: converting html to pdf

it would be best to convert them to epub rather than pdf and the best free program that will do all of that kind of stuff and so much more is Calibre
http://calibre-ebook.com/

amazing program and free!

Here is a link that might be useful: calibre

o

I tried converting html into pdfs using trial version of Adobe Online PDF Converter. I had no problem converting them, but when I tried downloading them, it gave me "unsupported format". However, any pdfs I purchased at Fictionwise etc downloaded with no problem. I did try the Calibre last night but it seems a bit more complicated.

o

Could you just use a virtual printer and
print the HTML documents to a pdf file?
The one I have been using for years
is linked below.

Pooh Bear

Here is a link that might be useful: Cute PDF

o

thanks, I'll try the Cute PDF and see if it works. Mlou

o

try googling for calibre tutorials for info on using it, it is an amazing program and made exactly for ebook conversions.

another option is using an online conversion site like
www.zamzar.com it will convert it for you and email it back to you in your desired format free

o

I gave Cablibre another try and managed to do 4 books! For some reason, one came out in OPF format even though I was trying for epub. I redid it and it came out in epub but the PDN says won't accept it. The others did fine, same publisher (New Concept Publishing). Don't know why it won't accept the book. Also my boing may be connected to email. Does anyone else have a noise to notify them when they get email? Mlou

o